Besoin d'aide?

Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

Elementary School Middle School High School

Le Renewable Energy Science Kit démontre le fonctionnement d'un système de technologie d'énergie propre à une échelle miniature. Alimentez un circuit électrique par panneau solaire ou éolienne à pales profilées basées sur l'aéronautique de la NASA. 

FCJJ-37 Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

Kit scientifique pour les enfants

Le Renewable Energy Science Kit démontre le fonctionnement d'un système de technologie d'énergie propre à une échelle miniature. Alimentez un circuit électrique par panneau solaire ou éolienne à pales profilées basées sur l'aéronautique de la NASA. Générez de l'hydrogène par électrolyse de l'eau et convertissez-le en électricité à l'aide d'une pile à combustible PEM. Quelle que soit la combinaison de technologies que vous souhaitez explorer, ce kit scientifique est une introduction complète aux principes des microgrids renouvelables

Éduquer aux énergies renouvelables

Les énergies renouvelables révolutionnent non seulement le secteur de l'énergie tel que nous le connaissons, mais aussi les classes de sciences dans le monde entier. Les technologies alternatives sont l'occasion d'ouvrir les yeux des enfants à un tout nouveau monde de découvertes scientifiques et d'enseigner les principes fondamentaux d'une nouvelle manière. Jetons un coup d'œil à quelques-uns des avantages de l'intégration des technologies renouvelables dans le programme scolaire.

La technologie d'aujourd'hui

Les grandes nations industrielles tirent déjà une grande partie de leur énergie des énergies renouvelables. Des pays comme le Royaume-Uni et l'Allemagne produisent jusqu'à 15 % de leurs besoins en électricité grâce à des technologies alternatives. Les réseaux énergétiques des grandes villes sont désormais soutenus par des micro-réseaux localisés et des réseaux intelligents utilisant des énergies renouvelables. Il y a aussi les grandes entreprises automobiles comme Hyundai, GM et Toyota, ainsi que les petits innovateurs comme Arcola Energy, qui créent des voitures hybrides et électriques à pile à hydrogène. L'Union européenne et des États américains comme la Californie investissent dans une infrastructure complète de stations de ravitaillement en énergie renouvelable, tandis que les télécommunications en Inde se tournent vers les énergies renouvelables pour assurer une production d'électricité plus fiable. Les énergies renouvelables sont omniprésentes et prennent une place de plus en plus importante dans nos vies. Quelle meilleure façon d'illustrer la pertinence directe de la science dans le monde réel ?

Enseigner les principes clés

L'enseignement des énergies renouvelables ouvre non seulement un tout nouveau monde de production d'énergie, mais introduit également certains principes scientifiques de base. Les technologies renouvelables sont un exemple concret du principe de conversion de l'énergie, en prenant l'énergie du vent ou du soleil et en la convertissant en énergie électrique ou en la stockant sous forme d'hydrogène. Le principe de conservation de l'énergie y est lié : les énergies renouvelables sont une excellente occasion pour les élèves de mesurer la perte d'énergie lors de sa conversion et de son stockage. Les kits éducatifs Horizon contiennent des hélices et des LED pour démontrer l'efficacité et le rendement de l'énergie générée par les énergies renouvelables.

Inspirez-vous de

Les éoliennes, les panneaux solaires, les piles à combustible et tout l'équipement nécessaire à l'enseignement des sciences renouvelables captent naturellement l'imagination des jeunes esprits. Les élèves peuvent expérimenter les effets de l'ombre sur les panneaux solaires, mesurer la résistance du vent sur les pales d'une turbine, essayer différents types de piles à combustible pour voir laquelle est la plus efficace et comparer les hydrures métalliques avec l'hydrogène généré par l'électrolyse de l'eau. Les expériences sont directement pratiques et font appel à une technologie fascinante et intéressante, tout en enseignant les principes électrochimiques essentiels.

Les énergies renouvelables constituent un outil à multiples facettes pour les professeurs de sciences. Elles sont idéales pour susciter l'intérêt des jeunes pour les sciences, elles sont plus intéressantes et polyvalentes pour les professeurs de sciences qui peuvent ainsi créer des leçons intéressantes et elles sont directement liées aux innovations technologiques qui se produisent tout autour de nous. Dans la quête pour inspirer la prochaine génération de physiciens et de chimistes, les équipements scientifiques liés aux énergies renouvelables sont un excellent point de départ.

FCJJ-37 Renewable Energy Education Set 2.0

Curriculum

Qu'est-ce qui est inclus dans le programme d’Horizon ? Le matériel n'est qu'un début. Nous avons construit le programme d'horizon de l'énergie pour fournir aux enseignants de multiples ressources pour impliquer leurs élèves.

Matériel fourni

  • Activités pratiques en laboratoire
  • Guides de l'enseignant
  • Guides de l'élève

Concepts couverts

Chemistry

Concepts de chimie

Électrolyse, énergie, génération d'hydrogène, taux de réaction, rendement de réaction, réactions, réactions redox, semi-conducteurs, stœchiométrie

Physics

Concepts de physique

Vitesse angulaire, Mécanique classique, Efficacité, Circuits électriques, Énergie, Loi d'Ohm, Circuits parallèles, Puissance (électrique), Mécanique rotationnelle, Circuits série

Earth

Concepts des sciences de la Terre

Changement climatique, énergie renouvelable, impact humain

Téléchargements

Datasheet

pdf [1,88 MB]

User Manual

pdf [1,8 MB]

Teacher's Guide Vous devez être Connecté pour télécharger ces fichiers

pdf [859,57 kB]
pdf [716,76 kB]
pdf [739,64 kB]
pdf [4,83 MB]
pdf [996,54 kB]
pdf [744,6 kB]

Curriculum Vous devez être Connecté pour télécharger ces fichiers

pdf [658,48 kB]
pdf [537,7 kB]
pdf [540,28 kB]
pdf [802,23 kB]
pdf [3,96 MB]
pdf [744,6 kB]

Student's Guide Vous devez être Connecté pour télécharger ces fichiers

Acheter Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

  • Vidéos de formation
  • Curriculum
    Expériences 16
    Durée de la leçon 5-13 heures
    Guide de l'enseignant 100 pages
    Guide de l'étudiant 76 pages
Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

395 $US

Ajouter

Somme

395 $US

Chargement ...

Need help?

Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

Elementary School Middle School High School

The Renewable Energy Science Kit demonstrates the workings of a clean energy technology system on a miniature scale. Power an electrical circuit by solar panel or a wind turbine with profiled blades based on NASA aeronautics. 

FCJJ-37 Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

Renewable Energy Science Kit - product overview

The Renewable Energy Science Kit demonstrates the workings of a clean energy technology system on a miniature scale. Power an electrical circuit by solar panel or a wind turbine with profiled blades based on NASA aeronautics. Generate hydrogen through water electrolysis and convert it into electricity using a PEM fuel cell. Whichever combination of technologies you want to explore, this science kit is a comprehensive introduction to the principles behind renewable microgrids.

  • Full PBL unit on clean power generation includes an exploration of the environmental eff ects of atmospheric carbon dioxide.
  • Hands-on activities center on complementary attributes of diff erent renewable energy sources.
  • Complete student and teacher materials for up to 10 class periods of activities.

Experiments

Experiment 1: Use a solar panel to power the LED module

Experiment 2: Use the solar panel to power the small fan/wheel motor module

Experiment 3: Preparation of the electrolyzer module and solar powered hydrogen production

Experiment 4: Using a PEM Fuel Cell to power the LED module

Experiment 5: Using a PEM Fuel Cell to power the small electric fan module 

Experiment 6: Using a PEM Fuel Cell to power the samll car wheel module

Experiment 7: Using a PEM Fuel Cell to power the small fan/wheel motor and the LED module in parallel

Experiment 8: Using a wind turbine to power the LED module

Experiment 9: Preparation of the elecrolyzer module and wind powered hydrogen production

Experiment 10: Using the battery pack to perform electrolysis (in case of no sun or wind)

Renewable Energy Education

Renewables are revolutionizing not only the energy industry as we know it, but also science classrooms across the world. Alternative technology is an opportunity to open kids’ eyes to a whole new world of scientific discovery as well as teach fundamental principles in a new way. Let’s take a look at just some of the advantages of integrating renewable technology into the curriculum.

Today’s Technology

Major industrial nations already source an enormous amount of their energy from renewables, with countries like the UK and Germany generating as much as 15% of their power needs with alternative technology. Energy grids of major cities are now supported by localized micro grids and smart grids using renewables. Then there are major automotive companies like Hyundai, GM and Toyota, as well as smaller innovators like Arcola Energy, creating hydrogen fuel cell hybrid and electric cars. Both the EU and US states such as California are investing in a comprehensive renewable refueling station infrastructure, while telecoms in India look to renewables to provide more reliable power generation. Renewables are all around us and becoming an increasingly important part of our lives—what better way to illustrate the direct relevance of science to the real world.

Teach Key Principles

Teaching renewable energy not only opens up a whole new world of energy generation, but also introduces some basic scientific principles. Renewable technology is a practical example of the principle of energy conversion, taking energy from the wind or sunlight and converting it into electrical energy or storing it as hydrogen. Connected to this is the principle of energy conservation— renewables are a great opportunity for students to measure energy loss as it is converted and stored. Then there’s the classic electrical circuit, Horizon education kits contain propellers and LEDs to demonstrate the effectiveness and efficiency of power generated from renewables.

Inspire

Wind turbines, solar panels, fuel cells and all the equipment involved in teaching renewable science naturally capture the imaginations of young minds. Students can experiment with the effects of shade on solar panels, measure wind resistance on turbine blades, try out different kinds of fuel cell to see which is the most efficient and compare metal hydrides with hydrogen generated from water electrolysis. The experiments are directly practical, involve fascinating, engaging technology while still teaching those key electrochemical principles.

Renewables are a multi-faceted tool for science teachers. They are Ideal for getting young minds excited about science, more interesting and versatile for science teachers to create engaging lessons and directly relevant to the technology innovations happening all around us. In the quest to inspire the next generation of physicists and chemists, renewable energy science equipment is a great place to start.

FCJJ-37 Renewable Energy Education Set 2.0

Curriculum

What is included in the horizon energy curriculum? The lab equipment is just the beginning. We’ve built the horizon energy curriculum to provide teachers with multiple resources for engaging their students.

Materials provided

  • Hands-on Lab Activities
  • Teacher's Guides
  • Student's Guides

Concepts covered

Chemistry

Chemistry Concepts

Electrolysis, Energy, Hydrogen Generation, Reaction Rates, Reaction Yield, Reactions, Redox Reactions, Semiconductors, Stoichiometry

Physics

Physics Concepts

Angular velocity, Classical Mechanics, Efficiency, Electric Circuits, Energy, Ohm's Law, Parallel Circuits, Power (Electric), Rotational Mechanics, Series Circuits

Earth

Earth Science Concepts

Climate change, Renewable Energy, Human Impact

Downloads

Datasheet

pdf [1.88 MB]

User Manual

pdf [1.8 MB]

Teacher's Guide You need to be Logged in to download these files

pdf [859.57 kB]
pdf [716.76 kB]
pdf [739.64 kB]
pdf [4.83 MB]
pdf [996.54 kB]
pdf [744.6 kB]

Curriculum You need to be Logged in to download these files

pdf [658.48 kB]
pdf [537.7 kB]
pdf [540.28 kB]
pdf [802.23 kB]
pdf [3.96 MB]
pdf [744.6 kB]

Student's Guide You need to be Logged in to download these files

Buy Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

  • Training videos
  • Curriculum
    Experiments 16
    Lesson time 5-13 hours
    Teacher's guide 100 pages
    Student's guide 76 pages
Renewable Energy Science Education Kit 2.0

$299

Add-on

Total

$299

Renewable Energy Science Kit - FAQ

1. The water levels do not drop when the gas outlet tubes on both sides of the fuel cell are unplugged.

Check whether the holes on the wall of the inner cylinder are blocked. If so, turn the inner cylinder until water enters the holes and fills up the inner cylinder.

2. The reversible fuel cell does not produce hydrogen and/or oxygen.

Check whether the wires are appropriately connected, and whether there are any loose connections. The fuel cell could be completely destroyed if the red wire of the battery pack is connected to the blackjack of the fuel cell.

Make sure the batteries are inserted with the correct polarity.

Replace the old batteries with new one in the battery pack.

3. The water electrolysis process slows down.

Inject water to the oxygen side of the reversible fuel cell by using the syringe and wait for about 3 minutes.

Replace the old batteries with new one in the battery pack.

4. The motor does not run while there is hydrogen left in the inner container.

Unplug the black pin of the short tube on the reversible fuel cell and quickly attach the pin back to the tube to purge out impure gases. You should then see the motor beging to turn again.

5. No hydrogen is produced using the wind turbine outdoors.

If the wind speed is not sufficient electricity will not be created. Use a common desk fan with faster wind speed to perform the electrolysis using the reversible fuel cell, or conduct the experiment under sufficient wind conditions.

Loading ...